I am, are you? πŸ™‚ We had a blessed Christmas and even did something different this year with the children. We gave them gifts like the three wise men gave baby Jesus. I saw the idea at BIMW and here is more detail. It was wonderful and they have been enjoying their gifts which when you factor in gifts from both sets of grandparents, aunts/uncles, close friends, it turned into more but as always, they know that other stuff must leave. I have been freecycling and I have a growing pile that is headed to the local charity store for my end of the year tax discount.

Here are the little cherubs on Christmas morning

Christmas morning

ripping it up

who's gonna win

My parents gave them each one of those VTECH laptops and they have been besides themselves with joy and I have enjoyed the educational aspect of the gift. Great purchase as they were half off on the day after Thanksgiving at Wal-Mart.

I did manage a few handmade gifts but I tell ya, I need to start now for next year. πŸ™‚ I didn’t get pics of some as I was too busy rushing to get them wrapped, but here are a few.

This was by far the quickest, fastest gift – Wheat sacks.

wheat sacks

I also made this apron for my MIL. It is also a refashioned piece in that it was a tablecloth when I found it at the thrift store already donned with pompoms so I cut it and added the jean waistband and voila!

apron

I made a scarf that I wasn’t sure who it was going to be for but hubby has claimed it. It is corduroy and accented with some fabric from my paying it forward gift received from Euphoria – thanks chica! I used the opposite colors on the reverse side.

side 2

side 1

On Christmas Day we went to my SIL’s as she was the host of this years family gathering and which family is on again for next year….drum roll….you guessed we are. So, I have already been thinking about my plans as we are talking over 40 folks and more when you start adding in the kids. The good thing is once you do it you are off the hook for at least 3 years.

I love this time as I get to reflect on where we have been and where we are going so I have been refining the homeschool schedule and clearing out clutter and looking forward to 2008. Hope you are doing the same!

