Last night was the last night of AWANA for the kids until the new year. It was cancelled last week due to the snow so I wasn’t exactly prepared because in my mind I had another week. Nonetheless, I wanted to give the teachers/assistants a little something and the grandiose plans of tissue holders and other assorted handmade items fell by the wayside in light of the calendar glitch. 🙂 I thought oh we will make some cookies which are always appreciated at this time of the year. My kids asked if their classes were going to have a party, and silly me said I am sure they are, well we would like to bring cupcakes. Uhhh, come again….out came the box of Duncan Hines and the mini cupcake liners and the little elves lined the pans with the liners. While cupcakes are baking, we whipped up some quick buttercream frosting and they pulled out the decorations and then the orders started flying.

Do we have to have white frosting? About green? No, I want red! Make some hearts! and Smiley faces?

waiting line

red icing

green icing

all finished

No pics of the cookies because they were bagged so fast and the rest mysteriously disappeared. 😉 Don’t worry my annual Cookie Swap is tomorrow night and I think it will be my cookie recipe so there will be pics by the weekend.

The light wasn’t too too bad today so I thought I would try to capture the Christmas tree in its glory.

side view

front view

And here are the stockings hanging from the mantle.

mantle stockings

Each one has our initial on it and the kids chose their own fabrics. The stockings are purple and the one in the middle is blue with a heart in honor of Malachi.

I really should probably be baking being that I need 7 dozen cookies for tomorrow but I just don’t feel like it yet. I have poured over my old/new cookie recipes and just nothing has clearly jumped out at as this years recipe….off to look again!

