Whew, I am glad to finally get that off of my chest. I do not do it on purpose (I really don’t) but I have a bad habit of correcting people when I am in their midst. I could blame it on my 8th grade English Teacher – Ms. Beuschel – she had a grammar bell and each student had their day with the bell. On your day, you had to ding the bell whenever anyone misspoke and if you didn’t catch it then you lost points.

Regardless of where this inner need for correction comes from it is very annoying to my hubby (probably others as well) and especially when it is combined with my other bad habit – he likes to call it that I always think (really know) that I am smarter than others. Now that I think about it, he says it but so does my mom and a dear friend. So obviously, it is a thing that I need to work on because people often feel that I am talking down to them.

Ahhh, today’s devotion from Proverbs 31 Ministries really hit home regarding these two areas. So, I may have days of being a gentle breeze, but I am sure that I also have my sledge hammer days and they are probably more easily remembered. The devotion included some action steps:

Enjoy God’s quiet presence and tender love.

Don’t let harshness become a bad habit. Begin to replace it with gentleness.

Practice patience.

Refrain from interrupting, correcting or nagging your husband.

Think before you speak. Do you really need to say what you’re about to say?

Spend time with friends or family who have a gentle spirit and observe.

I am glad it is fall because if it was summer, my open toes would have been bloodied from all of the stepping on. Please pray for your sister as I seek to be a better wife, mother, friend and daughter of the King.

