Hi, I am a dumpster diver and I have a problem, but I do not want any therapy. 🙂 Before anyone’s mind begins to wonder, I don’t actually jump in dumpsters but I am not above trolling the streets prior to trash pick-up looking for tossed treasures. On the way home from Lowe’s after my whiteboard buying spree, I was lucky enough to be in the passenger seat as my dad drove and in this neighborhood near me, the sanitation engineers had not picked up yet and I began to get a butterfly feeling in my tummy as I watched with anticipation the offerings at the curb.

Me: Dad, slow down, I can’t see everything!

Dad: Well tell me that you are looking.. (yes, he is always one for a wise remark)

Me: Back up, let’s look at that basket.

(car door opens)

Me: Nevermind, the side is busted.

(car door closes)

Children in backseat: Mommy, what are you looking for?

Me: Nothing in particular.

My mom: (sly chuckle)

Dad keeps driving

Me: Back up dad, I see a sewing machine!

(car backs up and door opens)

Me: (I jump out and grab the whole box not knowing all of its contents but I saw this…)

curbside find

(car door closes)

My mom: Ooh, I wonder if it works

Me: Even if it doesn’t, they included the book and accessories

Dad: Can I go now?

Me: Yes, proceed home driver. 🙂

I was quite tickled as my machine that I learned to sew on and had fixed for my birthday is a Kenmore. The machine doesn’t work, sounds like it just needs a belt so I am debating about getting it repaired. In the meantime, I thought I would look at the accessories..

attachments

There are different size hemmers, binders, edgestitchers, and other goodies and then there was this…

ruffler

I admit I was scared of it and here it is from the side

side view

What is it you ask – a ruffler!

I had been experiencing some craft envy of others and really prayed about it and I was led to a wonderful article in an old episode of Threads that I picked up at the library about a lady who sews great things on her 40+ year old machine. Admittedly, as a SAHM there are times when I have wants and know they are not needs and then I read a devotion that talked about wants vs. needs. I made confession of my want and truly just left it at the foot of the throne.

Why do I share all of this because God is good all of the time no matter where you may find yourself, he wants our obedience more than our sacrifices. Yes, we live off of 1 income and it is a pretty nice income but I still strive to be a good steward with everything that we have and God honored my obedience to Him and to my husband. All of this was free just like salvation, have you accepted your free gift?

