Some events in my life have led me to look closer at friends and friendship. The friend relationship dynamic has always intrigued me since I was a little child. Some people come in/out of your life like a revolving door, others sit for awhile but eventually leave and others get comfortable on the loveseat of life and are always around.

I stay in touch with a friend from 6th grade and while we do not talk often we can still pick up the phone and chat as if we haven’t missed a beat. They say that as you get older, you can’t meet any new old friends but I think as you grow older and you are more settled as a person you are able to make more meaningful friendships and relationships.

My hubby and I are in the midst of planting a church. When we married, I joined his church and we have been fellowshipping there for the last 6 years. However, the Lord is truly calling him in another direction and the transition has been nothing short of awkward. There are those wondering why we would ever think of leaving that church as if it something that the church has done, we aren’t following the church/pastor, we are following God. It has really felt cultlike and cliquish for some time but I guess all of that becomes more evident when you are on the other side.

Yesterday, we happenned to go to a local park because A wanted to go there as a part of her birthday. Well, there were several soon-to-be former church members there with their kids and many of them are homeschoolers. Our homeschooling community has dwindled at the church since the church started a school. You ever felt like you stumbled upon a secret meeting?

In conversation it was said that being that I was no longer worshipping at the church, I would have to work harder to maintain friendships because others see each other at church.

I guess I was a bit taken aback because I really thought that I had some true relationships with some of these women yet when I sat and thought about it our relationships did not really extend beyond church. Yes, a few had been over my home but still there wasn’t a true connection.

Have I forgotten how to show myself friendly according to Proverbs? What does it mean nowadays to have friendships? I feel closer and more connected to some people in blogland than people within my community, is that normal or strange?

I have a few other dear friends and while they don’t homeschool nor do they craft, I love them just the same. πŸ™‚

Maybe, I am at a point in my life where I need to examine me in the friendship process and work on how to show myself friendlier. Of course the other alternative is to not worry about making new friends, but I don’t feel that is the life that God has called me to lead.

