I feel bamboozled and hoodwinked. Lately I have been venturing to a not-as-local Safeway for my groceries for several reasons primarily because it is newer and I just like it. 🙂 After my first trip, I learned that if you spend more than $50 for groceries that you receive $.10 off per gallon of gas. Granted, gas prices have dropped a little teensy eensy weensy bit but $.10 off per gallon sounds soooo good. In my mind, I was skipping at $2.71 a gallon instead of the price of $2.81 per gallon.

So, after a second trip, I decided to fill up the gas tank. The tricky part is that you must go inside to swipe your Safeway card for the $.10 discount to be applied so after filling up, I swipe my card and sign my receipt and look at my savings, I saved $1.30……what?!?!??!?!?

Of course, if I actually did the math then I may not have been as surprised but math was not really on my mind at the time. 😉

