I was talking with a friend the other day and she was having one of those mom/wife moments where she just didn’t feel like she measured up to 2 other women (in particular). For background information: my friend is a stay-at-home wife/mom and she homeschools her 2 children. They live in a nice neighborhood with a nice home, car, etc. Both of her friends lives in a nicer neighborhoods, one has 3 kids and one has 1 dd, both have bigger homes, etc.

So, we are chatting:

My Friend – I just don’t feel that I measure up, especially when I am around these 2 friends. One has a daughter the same age as mine and she is reading at a 5th grade level and she had a sleepover and gave out high-priced personalized gifts to all party goers. She even has an up-to-date scrapbook for each child (she has 3).

Me – You mean the pictures aren’t in boxes? ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

My Friend – (pulls out digital camera) Look at these pictures from the sleepover. The entire basement of their really big house was dedicated to the sleepover. There is her wonderful husband and look at all the space and how neat everything is…

Me – Hmmm

My Friend – They are having a big playhouse built out back and she has already finished her Sonlight curric for the year and made all of her September purchases.

Me – Hmmm

My Friend – She doesn’t have to worry about money and she doesn’t have to wait for a sale.

Me – Hmmm

My Friend – My other friend (has 1 child) and they are having a stage built for dd and she has a really big house.

Me – Uhh Uhh

My Friend – I just don’t feel that I am organized enough for school, that my house is clean enough, that I am doing all that I can do.

Me – There is someone watching you wishing they could be at home and live in your house and drive your car and have what you have.

I made it comedic, but really many women suffer from the measuring up syndrome! I am woman, hear me roar and please do not rip the S off of my superwoman cape. The way the S drags us down, it might as well be a scarlet A.

When I have these moments, I look for my rose colored glasses and I put those on and I am thankful for what I do have…the Proverbs 31 woman really had it all together and my prayer is that God will continue to grow me in that way. Is that completely realistic, I think so as long as I am looking up, I do not have time to look around me at what you have. ๐Ÿ™‚

How do you deal with the feeling that you do not measure up?

