We just returned from a few days in the country. DH grew up in a small town in North Carolina and I do mean small. His family still owns their 55 acre farm and my in-laws are quite mobile for 85 and 89 years of age. The family has a tradition of gathering for Easter so we headed out on Thursday. The men usually play golf as you can do that in NC in April but the number of participants has dwindled over the years. They played on Friday but on Saturday they were unable to play due to sunshine and snow squalls….talk about an interesting site…

The kids love going to NC and enjoying the open area and seeing cows, goats and just a much more relaxed and rural nature than they are used to at home. They rode their bikes sans helmets and protective gear as they were just riding up and down the paved driveway which is quite long and who doesn’t like the wind going into your face and over your head. 🙂 My ds is still not too fond of insects so there were a few screaming moments but he is getting better.

I think that they would both now like their own set of golf clubs as they both made nice contact with the balls while using their dads clubs and what dad and 2 uncles do not enjoy their own ball chasers? The kids ran to and fro collecting golf balls and politely retrieving them for kind words and hugs.

Mom on the other hand just sat and watched. I took a few pictures for my scrapbooks and just spent time enjoying the surroundings. Of course on Friday I did pack up the kids and while dh was playing golf we drove 25-30 minutes to Roanoke Rapids to shop at the Super Wal-Mart (I would love to have one of these closer to me), we had lunch at Chick-Fil-A and I also had a venti latte from Starbucks. If you are wondering why I had to drive 30 minutes, remember we were in a very small town and the nearest McDonald’s is 18-20 miles away.

All in all it was a nice time to relax and the kids enjoy seeing the grandparents, aunts, uncles, and cousins.

