Everytime I turn the pages of the Rainbow Resource catalog, I chuckle to myself about how numerous the choices are for homeschooling curricula. Being that dd will be in K in September, the time has come to “officially” develop her curriculum and begin the process of submitting the proper paperwork to the Board of Education notifying them that she will be homeschooled….(creepy music playing in background). Why does this process bring on a sense of dread? I often ask myself why does fear/apprehension and the like creep into my body when I am looking over the choices. After a few minutes I realize it is because dh and I are taking the full responsibility of her education into our own hands.

What a responsibility? It is one we welcome as we are united that this is what God wants for her and our family, yet it is an awesome undertaking. Being that I am not a box type of girl, I am more a little of this and a little of that (I cook the same way), I am and have been doing a lot of research about different curricula and really trying to determine what suits not only her dominant learning style but also her not-so dominant learning style but also my style of teaching.

Many people feel that K doesn’t need a real curriculum. However, our state has full-day K and the “paperwork” details out the subject matter so even though they are pretty flexible about homeschooling in general they do want certain subjects covered so to me it is imperative that she has an actual curriculum and not something that mommy thought of in the shower for that week. 🙂

We have a homeschool curriculum expo coming in a few weeks so I look forward to attending that and checking out some things that are on my list. Hubby and I will be praying over my choices over the next few weeks as we like to commit them to prayer before actually buying. In the meantime, I will type up everything and submit it to the Chief Financial Officer (dh) for his approval. 😉

