Being an effective parent takes skill and training and the longer that I am a parent, the more I believe that God gives children to show us those things that are in our hearts that we think are small and not worthy of dealing with or that we choose to ignore about ourselves and our personalities.

One of those things for me is my mouth and the words that come out of it. In my mind, I can justify why this isn’t a “big” issue for me because it is not like I curse or something like that but I do have a tendency to have a tone in my voice that says a lot more than the words that accompany the tone. I was reminded of the end of Luke 6:45 (NASB) – for his mouth speaks from that which fills his heart. What is currently filling my heart? What should be filling my heart is the fruit of the Spirit (Galatians 6:22-3) – love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control. You have to love how God calls all of them fruit in the singular and not the plural of fruits. They are 1 fruit even though the fruit is comprised of 9 parts.

My daughter has a tendency to be somewhat flippant and my son said something today that I really think he heard me say or at least something close to it. He didn’t use it in the proper context but that doesn’t let me off of the hook because he should have never heard it and then I wouldn’t have to worry about it coming out of his mouth.

I long for that gentle and quiet spirit spoken of in 1 Peter 3:4 and as a wife, mother, daughter, friend that is my prayer that God would continue to show me those things in my heart that are truly not of Him so that I may fill my heart with His fruit and develop a much more gentle and quiet spirit. Keep me in your prayers!

