My mom likes to watch Oprah and being that she was at my house, I granted her request to change from the riveting Joe Brown to Oprah.  Needless to say, I am not a big Oprah fan.  I have never been an avid watcher of her show and would only tune in for her favorites show – which should just be called Temptation Hour – because everyone watching wants all of the stuff and the manufacturers can’t keep up with the demand.  My mom and I ordered some to die for pima cotton t-shirts that were waaaaaay overpriced and we had to wait more than 4 months to get them because of Queen Oprah and her power….but I digressed.

Mom wanted to know what “the secret” was that Oprah had promised to reveal on her show.  This secret is very popular and it is guaranteed to be life changing.  I was glued to the screen and even quieted the children to ensure that I didn’t miss the reveal of the secret.  Next thing I know, one of the expert panelist informed me that I was a mass of energy that attracted like energy and I needed to put positive vibrations into the universe in order to receive positive vibrations back – what?????  The secret is the law of attraction – like attracts like – we attract into our lives the things we want and that is based on our thoughts and feelings…simple english – our circumstances are created by our choices which are dependent upon our thoughts and feelings so our thoughts are very important.

At this point, my dad and I are looking at each other wondering why we are not watching Joe Brown.  Now, I know that Queen Oprah considers herself to be more spiritual rather than religious but what is this magic hocus pocus positive feel good baloney that she is trying to pass on to the rest of us????

In this world that we live in people are so desperate for anything that makes them feel better and temporarily addresses their hurts that they are lapping this secret stuff up by buying the videos/dvds/etc and the entire time they are just making more money for the expert panelists that have been deemed worthy of teaching the secret.

My daughter’s Sunday school lesson focused on the woman at the well.  Here was another example of a person looking for fulfillment and satisfaction in other places and not finding it.  Jesus told her in John 4:14 that He was her true source of fulfillment and satisfaction.  This is the message that people need to hear and not one of a temporary band-aid.  Oprah’s message boards have people that feel that they have done all of the things in the dvd’s for the secret but their life circumstances haven’t changed….that’s because the secret is not a secret it is a gimmick. 

Instead of accepting that life is not always going to be a bed of roses, Oprah and others like Dr. Beckwith et al. have capitalized on the word of faith movement.  Don’t say anything negative out loud as it could come true.  Also, think positive thoughts and not worry about sin, hell, consequences or repentance as those are not pleasant topics.  We are admonished in 2 Corinthians 10:5 to take our thoughts captive to the obedience of Christ and that is because we are full of some not so pretty characteristics according to Matthew 15:19 – murder, adultery, fornication, theft, lies; thus, our very human nature would not allow life to be a bed of roses – we are full of some pretty ugly things.

When life gets hard, as it definitely will, the secret of positive thoughts and vibrations is not the rock that I want to be standing on…to be continued….

